The Royal Runaway by Lindsay Emory –> Review

Posted October 7, 2018 by FMA in 4 Stars - It quenched my addiction!

The Royal Runaway by Lindsay Emory –> ReviewThe Royal Runaway by Lindsay Emory
Published by Gallery Books
on October 9, 2018
Pages: 304
Genres: Romance, Contemporary, Chick Lit, Suspense
four-half-stars

Goodreads
AMZ US iBooks
This post may contain affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I may receive a small commission from the sale.

For fans of The Princess Diaries and The Royal We comes a fun and daring novel about a modern-day princess who teams up with a spy to find out what happened to the fiancé who left her at the altar—and who just might get her own fairytale in the process.

Princess Theodora Isabella Victoria of Drieden of the Royal House Laurent is so over this princess thing.

After her fiancé jilted her on their wedding day, she’s finally back home after spending four months in exile—aka it’s back to press conferences, public appearances, and putting on a show for the Driedish nation as the perfect princess they expect her to be. But Thea’s sick of duty. After all, that’s what got her into this mess in the first place.

So when she sneaks out of the palace and meets a sexy Scot named Nick in a local bar, she relishes the chance to be a normal woman for a change. But just as she thinks she’s found her Prince Charming for the night, he reveals his intentions are less than honorable: he’s the brother of her former fiancé, a British spy, and he’s not above blackmail. As Thea reluctantly joins forces with Nick to find out what happened the day her fiancé disappeared, together they discover a secret that could destroy a centuries-old monarchy and change life as they know it.

Funny, fast-paced, and full of more twists and turns than the castle Thea lives in, The Royal Runaway is a fresh romantic comedy that will leave you cheering for the modern-day royal who chucks the rulebook aside to create her own happily-ever-after.


I was provided a review copy by Gallery Books; this did not influence my opinion of the book.


Do you love a slow burn romance, with sexual tension and sarcastic banter? How about romance with a side of mystery? The Royal Runaway by Lindsay Emory has all of that, plus intriguing characters, and a story that keeps you on the edge of your seat while snorting with laughter.

❝Does this work with women, usually? This …❞ I gestured to all of him. ❝This roguish scoundrel act?❞

❝You’re having a drink with me; you tell me.❞

Princess Theodora Isabella Victoria of Drieden of the Royal House Laurent is also known as the Runaway Princess. She’s second in line to the crown, and while she fully accepts her destiny, she often feels suffocated within the walls of the palace and needs to escape. Especially after having been left at the altar. Not able to take it any longer, Thea sneaks out of the palace and ends up at a local bar. Dressed in running gear, she hopes the locals will not recognize her because she’s very aware that she doesn’t have her security detail. When she meets Nick, she may be on guard, but she can’t help but fall for his charm. It is when she discovers that he is the brother of her former fiance’ and a blackmailing British spy that her already shaky world turns upside down.

❝I’m not meant for the spotlight. Or for cages,❞ he said, gesturing at the centuries-old painted ceiling above us. ❝No matter how pretty.❞ He stepped in front of me and pulled me to him. ❝Neither are you.❞

❝You don’t know me.❞

❝I know you’ll run. You always do.❞ Nick’s eyes glinted. ❝You aren’t meant for cages, either,❞ he said, a dark promise in his words.

I trailed my fingers along the leather spines of the history books I’d been studying. ❝One man’s cages is another woman’s duty.❞

❝One and the same, Princess.❞

 

GAH! I can’t get this grin off my face! I loved this book!! This charming story was funny, sexy, and mysterious. It was a perfect choice this rainy weekend as I as holed up in bed with a nasty cold.

four-half-stars

Tags: /

What's on your mind? (Please note, comment may be held for moderation before appearing.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.