In Five Years by Rebecca Serle –> Review

Posted March 2, 2020 by FMA in 5 Stars - It fed my addiction!

In Five Years by Rebecca Serle –> ReviewIn Five Years by Rebecca Serle
Published by Atria Books
on March 3, 2020
Pages: 272
Genres: Women's Fiction
five-stars

Goodreads
AMZ US iBooks
This post may contain affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I may receive a small commission from the sale.

Perfect for fans of Me Before You and One Day—a striking, powerful, and moving love story following an ambitious lawyer who experiences an astonishing vision that could change her life forever.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

When Type-A Manhattan lawyer Dannie Cohan is asked this question at the most important interview of her career, she has a meticulously crafted answer at the ready. Later, after nailing her interview and accepting her boyfriend’s marriage proposal, Dannie goes to sleep knowing she is right on track to achieve her five-year plan.
But when she wakes up, she’s suddenly in a different apartment, with a different ring on her finger, and beside a very different man. The television news is on in the background, and she can just make out the scrolling date. It’s the same night—December 15—but 2025, five years in the future.

After a very intense, shocking hour, Dannie wakes again, at the brink of midnight, back in 2020. She can’t shake what has happened. It certainly felt much more than merely a dream, but she isn’t the kind of person who believes in visions. That nonsense is only charming coming from free-spirited types, like her lifelong best friend, Bella. Determined to ignore the odd experience, she files it away in the back of her mind.
That is, until four-and-a-half years later, when by chance Dannie meets the very same man from her long-ago vision.

Brimming with joy and heartbreak, In Five Years is an unforgettable love story that reminds us of the power of loyalty, friendship, and the unpredictable nature of destiny.


I was provided a review copy by Atria; this did not influence my opinion of the book.


Oh, My Aching Heart! I feel like someone reached inside and ripped it out of my chest!

In Five Years is a beautiful, touching, and revertant love story between two best friends, Dannie and Bella. The two have been inseparable since childhood. Growing up, Bella would spend more time with Dannie’s family than her own.

Dannie is a corporate lawyer, a black and white thinker who lived life by the rules. Whereas Bella was a free-flowing, passionate artist who lived life to its fullest, rules be damned. They supported each other, held each other accountable, and loved the other with the purest love.

This story sneaked up on me. I didn’t expect it to go in the direction it did, and when it did, I broke down. I sobbed. I wept. My heart ached, and I got angry.

How can something so gut-wrenching be beautiful at the same time?

I cannot share the plot with you, but if you have triggers and want spoilers, read this  View Spoiler » otherwise, I suggest you go into this blind.

This story was complex and thought-provoking. It was compelling and unexpected. It was a beautifully written, heart-wrenching love story.

five-stars

Tags: /

What's on your mind? (Please note, comment may be held for moderation before appearing.)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.